English | Français

50 years of Molecular Biology in Geneva

EM of phage T4, 1958
Molecular Biology in Geneva started at the Institute of Physics. In 1931, Jean Weigle became director of this Institute and started to develop the first electron microscope made in Switzerland. He was helped to build the microscope to perfection by Edouard Kellenberger, also a physicist. In 1948, Jean Weigle, at the age of 47, resigned from the faculty of the University of Geneva and went to Caltech in California to work in the group of Max Delbrück. There, he concentrated on the study of the genetics of bacterial viruses (bacteriophages), but still visited his old laboratory in Geneva each summer. The competence of Jean Weigle in physics and his new interest in biology gave him an interdisciplinary advantage in the study of bacteriophages. With this advantage, which he brought to Geneva, Edouard Kelleberger started to observe bacteriophages using the electron microscope, leading to the first micrographs of these organisms.

During the 50s, Edouard Kellenberger, director of the new laboratory of "Biophysics", formed a group of researchers to work on the genetics of bacteriophages. This group included Werner Arber, who became his first assistant in 1953, and Grete Kellenberger-Gujer, Richard Epstein and Lucien Caro, who all worked on the genetics of the bacteriophage T4.

Werner Arber, Edouard Kellenberger and Jean Weigle, 1958

In the beginning of the 60s, the group of biologists expanded by the recruitement of Alfred Tissières (from Cambridge, UK) and Pierre-François Spahr (from Harvard), who formed together the Department of Biochemical Genetics in Sciences I. They worked on the biosynthesis of proteins and transcription. In 1964, this Department and the Biophysics Department, directed by Edouard Kellenberger, fused together and became the first Institute of Molecular Biology in Switzerland. The certificate of specialisation in molecular biology was created at that time. Ulrich Laemmli, Bernard Hirt and Dimitri Karamata formed the first class.

In 1960, Werner Arber became a faculty member in the Department of Biophysics and, starting from 1964, of the new Institute of Molecular Biology, where he stayed until 1970. During these six years, he worked on the mechanism by which the bacteria resist infection by bacteriophages. His research led to the discovery of restriction enzymes, which proved essential for the development of molecular biology. For this discovery he was awarded together with Hamilton Smith and Daniel Nathans the Nobel Prize in Physiology and Medicine in 1978 .

1978 Nobel prize

In 1969, the Department of Molecular Biology was formed from the Institute of Molecular Biology and in 1970 it moved from Sciences I to Sciences II. In 1971, Lucien Caro (from the Rockerfeller Institute), Harvey Eisen (from UCSF), Jeffrey Miller (from CSH) and Roger Weil (from UNIL) joined Alfred Tissières, Pierre-François Spahr and Richard Epstein. In the same decade Edouard Kellenberger and Werner Arber went to Basle to create the Biozentrum, a new center of research.

Throughout the following years, new professors joined the Department: Bernard Allet (currently, retired), Erich Nigg (currently, director of the Biozentrum), Susan Gasser (currently, director of the Friedrich Miescher Institute), Ulrich Laemmli (currently, honorary professor), Jean-David Rochaix, Ueli Schibler, David Shore, Robbie Loewith, Thanos Halazonetis, Stéphane Thore and Thomas Schalch.

In 2003, the Department moved to Sciences III, where it joined the other Departments of the section of Biology.

English | Français

50 ans de biologie moléculaire à Genève

EM d'un phage T4, 1958
Le début de la Biologie moléculaire à Genève se situe à l'Institut de Physique. En 1931, Jean Weigle y est devenu directeur et professeur, et a commencé à développer le premier microscope électronique de fabrication suisse. Il était aidé au perfectionnement de cet instrument par son assistant Edouard Kellenberger, également physicien. En 1948, Jean Weigle, à l'âge de 47 ans, démissionna de la faculté de l'Université de Genève et se rendit à Caltech en Californie pour travailler dans le groupe de Max Delbrück. Là bas, Jean Weigle se concentra sur l'étude de la génétique des virus bactériens (bactériophages), mais il maintint des contacts avec son ancien laboratoire en venant à Genève chaque été. La compétence de Jean Weigle en physique et son nouvel intérêt en biologie permit une approche interdisciplinaire de l'étude des bactériophages. Dans cette mouvance, Edouard Kellenberger à Genève commença à les observer avec le microscope électronique ce qui conduisit à la première micrographie de ces organismes.

Pendant les années 1950, Edouard Kellenberger, alors directeur du nouveau laboratoire de "biophysique", formait un réseau de chercheurs travaillant sur la génétique des phages. Ce réseau incluait Werner Arber, qui devint en 1953 son premier assistant, et aussi Grete Kellenberger-Gujer, Richard Epstein et Lucien Caro, qui travaillaient sur la génétique du bactériophage T4.

Werner Arber, Edouard Kellenberger and Jean Weigle, 1958

Au début des années 1960, le réseau de biologistes se développa en incluant Alfred Tissières (venant de Cambridge, UK) et Pierre-François Spahr (venant de Harvard), qui créèrent le département de biochimie génétique à Sciences I. Ils y travaillaient sur la biosynthèse des protéines et la transcription. En 1964, ce département et le département de biophysique, dirigé par Edouard Kellenberger, fusionnèrent et devinrent le premier Institut de biologie moléculaire en Suisse. Le certificat de spécialisation en biologie moléculaire fut créé à cette époque. Ulrich Laemmli, Bernard Hirt et Dimitri Karamata furent dans la première classe.

En 1960, Werner Arber devint un membre du corps professoral du département de biophysique et, à partir de 1964, du nouvel Institut de biologie moléculaire, où il resta jusqu'en 1970. Durant ces dix années, il travailla sur le mécanisme par lequel les bactéries deviennent résistantes à l'infection des phages. Ces recherches conduisirent à la découverte des enzymes de restriction, qui fut essentielle au développement de la biologie moléculaire. Pour cette découverte, il recu avec Hamilton Smith et Daniel Nathans le Prix Nobel de Physiologie et Médecine en 1978 .

1978 Nobel prize

En 1969, le département de biologie moléculaire, issu de l'Institut de biologie moléculaire, fut créé et, en 1970, déménagea de Sciences I à Sciences II. A partir de 1971, Lucien Caro (venant de Rockefeller Institut), Harvey Eisen (venant de UCSF), Jeffrey Miller (venant de CSH) et Roger Weil (venant de UNIL), vinrent rejoindre Alfred Tissières, Pierre-François Spahr et Richard Epstein. A la même époque, Edouard Kellenberger et Werner Arber partirent à Bâle pour créer le Biozentrum, un nouveau centre de recherche.

Dans les années suivantes, de nouveaux professeurs joignirent le département: Bernard Allet (actuellement en retraite), Erich Nigg (devenu directeur du Biozentrum), Susan Gasser (actuellement directrice de l'Institut Friedrich Miescher) et Ulrich Laemmli (actuellement professeur honoraire), Jean-David Rochaix, Ueli Schibler, David Shore, Robbie Loewith, Thanos Halazonetis, Thomas Schalch et Florian Steiner.

En 2003, le département déménagea à Sciences III, ce qui permit le regroupement des différents départements de la Section de Biologie.