English | Français

Epstein Award for PhD level Graduate Students and Postdoctoral Fellows

Picture of Richard Epstein

Richard Epstein was a Professor of Genetics and Director of the Department of Molecular Biology of the University of Geneva. He made seminal contributions in the field of bacterial genetics. In particular he was instrumental in the discovery and analysis of the amber mutants of bacteriophage T4 and succeeded in identifying most of the essential genes of T4 using conditional-lethal mutations. He was an inspiring teacher and many students chose to study molecular genetics in the Department after following his stimulating and thought-provoking lectures.

Upon his retirement, Prof. Epstein donated funds to assist graduate students and postdoctoral fellows attend international scientific meetings. Accordingly, to honor his memory, the Department has established the Epstein Award. Three such awards will be presented each year on a competitive basis.

To apply for the Epstein Award, interested PhD level graduate students or postdoctoral fellows of the Department of Molecular Biology will need to submit information on the meeting they wish to attend, a half-page justification of why they want to attend the specific meeting and the abstract and/or manuscript or publication that they intend to present at this meeting.

The deadlines for submitting this information are March 31 and October 31 of each calendar year.

Recipients of Epstein Award

2018Karoline LeopoldMaude StrobinoLaura Padayachy
2017Kamila DelaneyBeata Kusmider 
2016Christiane BruggerSlawomir Kubik 
2015Sandrine CoquilleKa Yi HuiMaksym Shyian
2014Maria Jessica BruzzoneChristl GaubitzNatalia Lugli
2013Maciej KocylowskiMorgane MacheretSeda Yerlikaya
2012Fabiana ArietiSilvia RamundoSotirios Sotiriou
2011Soheila EmamzadahBritta KnightManuele Piccolis