Département de biologie moléculaire
En | Fr

Richard Epstein Award for PhD level Graduate Students and Postdoctoral Fellows

Picture of Richard Epstein

Richard Epstein was a Professor of Genetics and Director of the Department of Molecular Biology of the University of Geneva. He made seminal contributions in the field of bacterial genetics. In particular he was instrumental in the discovery and analysis of the amber mutants of bacteriophage T4 and succeeded in identifying most of the essential genes of T4 using conditional-lethal mutations. He was an inspiring teacher and many students chose to study molecular genetics in the Department after following his stimulating and thought-provoking lectures.

Upon his retirement, Prof. Epstein donated funds to assist graduate students and postdoctoral fellows attend international scientific meetings. Accordingly, to honor his memory, the Department has established the Epstein Award. Three such awards will be presented each year on a competitive basis.

To apply for the Epstein Award, interested PhD level graduate students or postdoctoral fellows of the Department of Molecular Biology will need to submit information on the meeting they wish to attend, a half-page justification of why they want to attend the specific meeting and the abstract and/or manuscript or publication that they intend to present at this meeting.

The deadlines for submitting this information are March 31 and October 31 of each calendar year.

Recipients of Epstein Award

2019
Mateusz Mendel, Alessandro Stirpe, Joanna Wenda
2018
Karoline Leopold, Laura Padayachy, Maude Strobino
2017
Kamila Delaney, Beata Kusmider
2016
Christiane Brugger, Slawomir Kubik
2015
Sandrine Coquille, Ka Yi Hui, Maksym Shyian
2014
Jessica Bruzzone, Christl Gaubitz, Natalia Lugli
2013
Maciej Kocylowski, Morgane Macheret, Seda Yerlikaya
2012
Fabiana Arieti, Silvia Ramundo, Sotirios Sotiriou
2011
Soheila Emamzadah, Britta Knight, Manuele Piccolis

Département de biologie moléculaire
En | Fr

Prix Epstein pour étudiant(e)s-doctorant(e)s et chercheurs post-doctoraux

Picture of Richard Epstein

Richard Epstein fut professeur de génétique et directeur du département de Biologie moléculaire de l'Université de Genève. Il fit des contributions majeures dans le domaine de la génétique bactérienne. Il joua notamment un rôle clé dans la découverte des mutants amber du bactériophage T4 et réussit à identifier la plupart des gènes essentiels de T4 en utilisant des mutations létales conditionnelles. Il éveilla de nombreuses vocations en génétique moléculaire parmi les étudiants grâce à son enseignement unique, stimulant et exigeant.

Après sa retraite le professeur Epstein fit une donation pour aider les étudiant(e)s-doctorant(e)s et les chercheurs post-doctoraux à assister à des congrès scientifiques internationaux. Pour honorer sa mémoire le département a instauré le Prix Epstein. Trois bourses de voyage seront mises au concours chaque année sur une base compétitive.

Pour postuler pour le Prix Epstein, les étudiant(e)s-doctorant(e)s et chercheurs post-doctoraux du département de Biologie moléculaire devront présenter la conférence à laquelle ils souhaitent participer, une lettre de motivation d'une demi-page ainsi que le résumé et/ou un manuscrit ou une publication qu'ils/elles présenteront à la conférence.

Pour chaque année, les délais de soumission des dossiers sont le 31 mars et 31 octobre.

Titulaires du prix Epstein

2019
Mateusz Mendel, Alessandro Stirpe, Joanna Wenda
2018
Karoline Leopold, Laura Padayachy, Maude Strobino
2017
Kamila Delaney, Beata Kusmider
2016
Christiane Brugger, Slawomir Kubik
2015
Sandrine Coquille, Ka Yi Hui, Maksym Shyian
2014
Jessica Bruzzone, Christl Gaubitz, Natalia Lugli
2013
Maciej Kocylowski, Morgane Macheret, Seda Yerlikaya
2012
Fabiana Arieti, Silvia Ramundo, Sotirios Sotiriou
2011
Soheila Emamzadah, Britta Knight, Manuele Piccolis